6 Ways to Come Out with Style

Standard

Hey guys, Cece here. I’m really sorry I haven’t posted but there’s been a lot going on in my life. For one, I came out to my parents.

It was…difficult. And I don’t really know how I feel about them knowing. We had a bit of an awkward conversation. They told me they love me no matter what and I said ok. And now we all seem to kind of ignore it.

I know a lot of people say it’s a relief to come out. I’m not sure I would say I’m relieved, as in a weight off my shoulders or anything. But I do feel like telling them was the right thing to do.

Also, two days ago was Day of Silence! My school’s GSA sold some buttons and held sign ups for Day of Silence. Each participant got a sticker.

Anyway, coming out and Day of Silence both went well overall, and I’ve been meaning to do a list like the post I did a while ago, so I present to you:

 

6 Ways to Come Out with Style. 

  1. This is how I did it, so I have to include it. It may not be the easiest for all. I took one of the buttons we were selling and wrote it on the back. Basically, find a gay themed pin/button and write it on the back. Hand it to whom you wish.
  2. This is all over the internet but I stand by it. Bake a cake, cupcake, or anything else you can frost, and spell it out on top in your favorite kind of frosting.
  3. Write a letter to the person. Be as formal as you possibly can. (ex. “I am pleased to inform you that your son, [insert name her] is undeniably gay and wishes you to know.”) Give it to them or leave it where they will find it–make sure it will be them who finds it, not a random person I’m their office building or something.
  4. Sit down and say, “Mom, Dad, we need to get one thing straight.” Pause and look at them. In your most sincere voice, continue, “I’m not.”
  5. Take the most stereotypically gay things you have or find a t-shirt that says something like in the above idea, and wear it around them. Wait for them to ask about it.
  6. Just sit down with them and tell them. Have a nice conversation and then say it. It’s a classic.

Of course, if you suspect your parents might not be accepting and you depend on them, you might want to wait and not put yourself in danger. You can always ask them about their stance on LGBTQ+ rights and see what their opinion is in general before you decide whether you will be safe coming out. 

Thanks for reading, lovelies! 🙂 Talk to you all on Tuesday! (I’m on spring break, so I promise I’ll write on time!) 

Do any of you have coming out stories? Tell us in the comments!

Leave a Question, Advice, or Comment

